Federal Infrastructure Plan Workshop

Chaska Event Center - 3210 Chaska Blvd, Chaska, MN 11:00 AM to 4:00 PM

Co-Hosts: Minnesota Transportation Alliance & Minnesota Department of Transportation

Join your colleagues and learn the details you need to know regarding the recently passed federal infrastructure legislation – the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA). 

This five-hour Workshop (including lunch) will explore the policy and funding details, outline new discretionary grant programs and give you an opportunity to provide input as MnDOT works to plan for new federal funds and new policy provisions.




Speaker & Title

11:00 AM

Welcome to Chaska

Margaret Donahoe, MN Transportation Alliance:

Mayor Mark Windschitl, City of Chaska

In-person speaker.

11:10 AM

Opening Comments

Congressman Dean Phillips, Congressional District 3

MnDOT Commissioner Margaret Anderson Kelliher

Metropolitan Council Chair Charles Zelle


11:30 AM

IIJA Overview



  • Overall Funding Levels

Serge Phillips, Federal Relations Manager, MnDOT

Brian Gage, OTSM Programming and Performance Mgmt. Office Director, MnDOT


  • Funding for Roads & Bridges

Brian Gage, OTSM Programming and Performance Mgmt. Office Director, MnDOT

Philip Schaffner, OTSM Planning Office Director, MnDOT

11:45 AM

Senator Tina Smith Remarks

Senator Tina Smith, via Teams

12:00 PM

Lunch Break


12:30 PM

Senator Amy Klobuchar Remarks

Senator Amy Klobuchar, video remarks

12:40 PM

IIJA Overview



  • Funding for Transit & Active Transportation

Victoria Nill, Director, Office of Transit & Active Transportation, MnDOT

Nick Thompson, Deputy General Manager, Metro Transit



  • Equity & Reconnecting Communities

Gloria Jeff, Metro District Livability Director, MnDOT


  • State & Local Match Requirements

Josh Knatterud-Hubinger, Budget Director, MnDOT


  • Sustainability & Resiliency

Tim Sexton, Assistant Commissioner, Sustainability and Public Health Division, MnDOT


  • Safety

Brian Sorenson, State Traffic Engineer, MnDOT


  • Discretionary Grant Programs

Serge Phillips, Federal Relations Manager, MnDOT


  • Project Delivery

Marni Karnowski, Chief Environmental Officer, MnDOT


  • Local Government Funding

Elisa Bottos Project Delivery Engineer, State Aid Office, MnDOT


  • Rail, Airport, & Waterways

Cassandra Isackson, Aeronautics Director

William Gardner, Director, Office of Freight and Commercial Vehicle Operations, MnDOT


  • Corridor Studies

Jon Solberg, Metro District Planning, Program Management & Transit Office Director, MnDOT

2:00 PM



2:15 PM

Small Groups Session 1


2:40 PM



2:55 PM

Small Groups Session 2


3:20 PM

Mentimeter Exercise

Josh Root, Senior Counsel, Office of Chief Counsel, MnDOT

3:50 PM

Closing Remarks

Margaret Donahoe, MN Transportation Alliance State-Level Advocacy for 2022