2020 Washington, D.C. Transportation Fly-In

Location
Washington Plaza Hotel in Washington, D.C.

The Alliance is now offering both in-person and remote participation!

Join us to speak with your elected officials and voice the importance of transportation in Minnesota.

Why is it important to go?

1. The FAST Act expires in September, 2020 - We need to send a strong message in support of reauthorization.

2. The House and Senate have developed Initial Transportation Authorization Proposals and Committees are active.

3. BUILD, INFRA, ROUTES Grant Proposals under consideration.

4. If you would like to meet your Congressional Representatives, Alliance Staff will be arranging individual meetings for you.

Price for Fly-In Package

$575 per person for meetings, receptions, and coordinating appointments for you. Does not include airfare, hotel or ground transportation.

$515 for Alliance Members.

$200 for Remote Participation

Tentative Schedule - subject to change

Tuesday, September 22

3:00 pm EST – Registration  Washington Plaza

3:00 pm CST/4:00 pm EST – Welcome and Discussion of Federal Transportation Funding

  • Status of Federal Highway Trust Fund
  • Proposals for 5-year Surface Transportation Funding plan House and Senate
  • Update on FY2021 THUD Appropriations

Emily Tranter, Lockridge Grindal Nauen; Dennis McGrann, Folger Square Group; Serge Phillips, MnDOT

4:30 CST/5:30 EST – Happy Hour and Networking  Washington Plaza & Remote

  • Invited: Senators Smith and Klobuchar

 

Wednesday, September 23    Washington Plaza & Remote

7:30 am CST/8:30 am EST – Breakfast with Minnesota Congressional Delegation

            7:30/8:30 –

            7:45/8:45 –

            8:00/9:00 –

            8:15/9:15 –

            8:30/9:30 – Rep. Angie Craig

            8:45/9:45 – Rep. Pete Stauber

            9:00/10:00 – Rep. Ilhan Omar

            9:15/10:15 – Rep. Jim Hagedorn

            9:30/10:30 – Rep. Tom Emmer

9:30 am CST/10:30 am EST – Break

10:30 CST/11:30 EST – Presentation: New Changes to NEPAKevan Stone, Executive Director, NACE

BUILD/INFRA Grants

1:00-4:00 pm CST/2:00-5:00 pm EST – Group Meetings with Staff

5:00 pm EST – Happy Hour and Dinner  in DC

 

Thursday, September 24

8:00 am CST/9:00 EST – Breakfast with Senator Smith or Klobuchar - invited

                                                Federal Transit Funding

  • CARES Act Status
  • Proposed Transit Funding by House and Senate
  • Minnesota Transit Needs and Projects

Caroline Hunsicker, Office of Senator Smith; American Public Transit Assn.

9:30 am CST/10:30 am EST – Update on Transportation Revenue and Construction in Other States –  

Dr. Alison Premo Black, ARTBA

10:30 am CST/11:30 am EST – Thank You & Concluding Remarks

Here's What you need to know:

1. Reserve your flight now!

2. Washington Plaza Hotel has rooms available online, but rooms are limited. Book your room ASAP.

3. Ground Transportation is not included, but attendees often split cab/ shuttlefare

Files
Event Accommodations

Washington Plaza Hotel
10 Thomas Circle, NW
Washington, DC 20005

Discount rate: $329 per night
Cut-off date: August 24, 2020

800.424.1140 or Book Online.

Reference: Transportation Alliance