## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

February 15, 2022

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Minority Leader United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Charles Schumer Majority Leader United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Minority Leader United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Speaker Pelosi and Leaders McCarthy, Schumer, and McConnell:

As bipartisan supporters of the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA), we urge the House and Senate to promptly complete work on the annual Transportation, Housing and Urban Development (T-HUD) appropriations bill for Fiscal Year (FY) 2022. The IIJA will enable historic federal funding for our nation's crumbling infrastructure. However, the current Continuing Resolution (CR), which extends the Fixing America's Surface Transportation (FAST) Act authorized spending levels, continues to impede full implementation by the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT). Failure to provide timely appropriations for these investments further delays critical work in our districts and impacts the lives and livelihoods of our constituents.

The CR constrains DOT and our state departments of transportation to the obligation limitation levels set forth in the FAST Act. As a result, federal expenditures for significant portions of our highway, transit, and highway safety programs follow the FY 2021 Consolidated Appropriations Act, rather than the new levels authorized in the IIJA. For example, under IIJA, core highway program funding has increased to \$58 billion and public transportation program funding to \$13 billion. However, each of these programs currently has an obligation limitation of \$46 billion and \$10 billion, respectively, as a result of the ongoing CR.

Additionally, the CR prevents DOT from implementing new programs created in the IIJA law under a "no New Starts" provision. This amounts to billions of dollars of infrastructure improvements that remain in limbo, including the new Carbon Reduction Program. Without further Congressional action, bipartisan, bicameral priorities approved by Congress and the Biden Administration will become casualties of these delays.

The passage of IIJA was a significant legislative feat, but delays in the FY22 appropriations process will prevent Americans from reaping the benefits of these critical investments. Our nation's infrastructure is failing, and it is essential that the IIJA is implemented efficiently and effectively. Without immediate action by the House and Senate, our state and local partners face continued uncertainty on how and when they can leverage IIJA to advance important projects. We therefore urge swift passage of the FY 2022 T-HUD Appropriations bill.

Thank you for your consideration of this request.

Respectfully,

Seth Moulton

Member of Congress

John Katko

Member of Congress

Karen Bass

Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick

Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi

Member of Congress

Don Young

Member of Congress

CAROLYN BOURDEAUX

Member of Congress

Andrew R. Garbarino



Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

10.CLL Salud Carbajal

Anthony G. Brown Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

Joseph D. Morelle Member of Congress Fred Upton

Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Mussy Houlehan

Kurt Schrader

Julia Brownley
Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress

Ro Khanna

Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

Bill Foster

Member of Congress

Faster

Dean Phillips

Dean Phillips
Member of Congress

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Mike Levin

Member of Congress

Wike Ten

Jim Costa

Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Ted W. Lien

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

André Carson

André Carson Member of Congress

Angie Craig

Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Paul D. Tonko

Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer
Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill
Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress Eleano H. Norton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

W'Will Z

Nikema Williams
Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Gerrold Nadler Member of Congress Rick Zansen

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Take Auchincloss
Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Albio Sires
Member of Congress

Dina Titus

Hank Johnson In

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Kathy Manning
Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster
Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Yamie Raskin Member of Congress

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

al N. Cullie

CC: Chair Rosa DeLauro, House Committee on Appropriations
Ranking Member Kay Granger, House Committee on Appropriations
Chair Patrick Leahy, Senate Committee on Appropriations
Vice Chair Richard Shelby, Senate Committee on Appropriations