About Us

About Us

Our mission: To coordinate and educate diverse groups statewide to effectively advocate for a safe, efficient transportation system that works for everyone.

Originally organized back in 1893, the Minnesota Transportation Alliance is a statewide coalition of organizations advocating for a safe and effective transportation system that works for all Minnesotans. Our Alliance includes local governments, businesses, labor, the transportation industry, transit systems, rail, waterways, and airports. In short, our members are on the front lines, planning, designing, building and operating Minnesota’s transportation system every day.

The Minnesota Transportation Alliance
525 Park St Ste 240
Saint Paul, MN 55103-2106
Phone: (651) 659-0804
Fax: (651) 659-9009
Contact Us »

Alliance Staff

Margaret Donahoe, Executive Director

Laura Eash, Program Coordinator

Kathy Jensen, Events Coordinator

Barb Simanton, Accountant/Office Manager

Office Hours:
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Monday through Friday

Parking Restrictions at the Alliance Building:
Parking in the lot at the Capitol Office Building, home of the Alliance, is by permit only. Because we're so close to the State Capitol, the lot is subject to much unauthorized use. The building management therefore enforces permits vigorously and will indeed tow your car. Unfortunately, they will not honor any temporary permit issued by us. Map »

What to do:
Park in a marked 'Visitor' space on the outside edges of the lot.
If no Visitor spaces are available, park along Charles Ave to the north, or Sherburne Ave to the south of the lot.
If no street parking is available, use the parking ramp at Bethesda Rehabilitation Hospital, entrance on Park St directly to the east of our building.

2015 Board of Directors

President:  Russell Hess, Laborers District Council of MN & ND -- Saint Paul
Vice President:  Randy Maluchnik, Carver County Commissioner -- Chaska
Secretary:  Scott Mareck, WSB & Associates -- St. Cloud
Treasurer:  Wayne Sandberg, Washington County Public Works -- Stillwater
Immediate Past President:  Steven Sauer, Tiller Corporation -- Maple Grove
Chair of Legislative Committee: Dale Grove, Stantec -- Rochester

Debra Brisk, Hennepin County -- Minneapolis
Matt Bryan, Bryan Rocks Products -- Shakopee
Kevin Cullen, TKDA -- Saint Paul
Mary Beth Davidson, Hennepin County -- Minneapolis
Dale Grove, Stantec -- Rochester
Eric Hedman, 3M -- Saint Paul

Pat Henderson, Arrowhead RDC -- Duluth
Chris  Hiniker, SEH -- Saint Paul 
Cynthia Jaksa – City of International Falls
Dennis Jensen, Duluth Transit Authority (DTA) -- Duluth
Greg Kilgore, Ess Brothers and Sons, Inc. -- Mahtomedi

Tony Kellen, Wendel -- Minneapolis
Randy Maluchnik, Carver County -- Chaska
Scott Mareck, WSB & Associates -- Saint Cloud
Jim McDonough, Ramsey County -- Saint Paul
Marthand Nookala, HNTB Corporaton  -- Minneapolis
Tom Perrier, North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters -- Saint Paul
Kent Peterson, Bituminous Roadways -- Mendota Heights
Khani Sahebjem, SRF -- Minneapolis
Michael Sheehan, Olmsted County -- Rochester
Vance Stuehrenberg, Blue Earth County -- Mankato
Leslie Vermillion, Scott County -- Shakopee
Doug Zila, International Union of Operating Engineers Local #49 -- Minneapolis